Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Rep. Vargas Named Conferee to National Defense Authorization Act Conference for Fiscal Year 2021

Nov 23, 2020
Press Release

Washington, D.C. (November 19, 2020) – Speaker Nancy Pelosi named Rep. Vargas (CA-51) to serve on a conference committee of the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA).


NDAA conferees from the House and Senate will work together to resolve the key differences between the two defense authorization bills passed by each chamber this summer.


"I'm honored to serve in a committee that aims to ensure that the National Defense Authorization Act puts people first," said Rep. Vargas. "This includes a pay raise for our military, expanded paid parental leave for civilian employees, and investments to combat climate change."


Earlier this year, Rep. Vargas' COVID-19 Emergency Medical Supplies Enhancement Act was included in the National Defense Authorization Act. His legislation clarifies that the President is authorized to exercise authorities of the Defense Production Act for the production of personal protective equipment (PPE) and other supplies needed to combat and reduce the impact of COVID-19.


"The House-passed NDAA also includes funding for a Pandemic Preparedness and Resilience National Security Fund. This funding will address the ongoing pandemic and prepare for future national crises,” said Rep. Vargas.  "If COVID-19 taught us anything, it's that national preparedness is vital to preventing public health and financial crises."


Vargas represents California’s 51st Congressional District which includes the southern portion of San Diego County, all of Imperial County, and California’s entire U.S.-Mexico border. Vargas was first elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 2012 and is currently serving his fourth term in Congress. He serves on the House Financial Services Committee and House Foreign Affairs Committee.


The House Democratic Conferees to the conference committee are:


House Committee on Financial Services

Congresswoman Maxine Waters of California, Chair

Congressman Juan Vargas of California

House Committee on Armed Services

Congressman Adam Smith of Washington, Chair

Congresswoman Susan Davis of California

Congressman James Langevin of Rhode Island

Congressman Rick Larsen of Washington

Congressman Jim Cooper of Tennessee    

Congressman Joe Courtney of Connecticut

Congressman John Garamendi of California

Congresswoman Jackie Speier of California

Congressman Donald Norcross of New Jersey

Congressman Ruben Gallego of Arizona

Congressman Seth Moulton of Massachusetts

Congressman Salud Carbajal of California

Congressman Anthony Brown of Maryland

Congressman Ro Khanna of California

Congressman Bill Keating of Massachusetts

Congressman Filemon Vela of Texas

Congressman Andy Kim of New Jersey

Congresswoman Kendra Horn of Oklahoma

Congressman Gil Cisneros of California

House Committee on Agriculture

Congressman Collin Peterson of Minnesota

Congresswoman Abigail Spanberger of Virginia

House Committee on Budget

Congressman Joseph Morelle of New York

Congressman Steven Horsford of Nevada

House Committee on Education and Labor

Congressman Bobby Scott of Virginia

Congresswoman Lori Trahan of Massachusetts

House Committee on Energy and Commerce

Congressman Frank Pallone of New Jersey

Congresswoman Diana DeGette of Colorado

House Committee on Foreign Affairs

Congressman Eliot Engel of New York, Chair

Congressman Brad Sherman of California

House Committee on Homeland Security

Congresswoman Xochitl Torres Small of New Mexico

Congresswoman Elissa Slotkin of Michigan

House Committee on Administration

Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren of California

Congresswoman Marcia Fudge of Ohio

House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence

Congressman Adam Schiff of California, Chair

Congresswoman Terri Sewell of Alabama

House Committee on Judiciary

Congressman Jerrold Nadler of New York, Chair

Congresswoman Debbie Mucarsel-Powell of Florida

House Committee on Natural Resources

Congressman Raúl Grijalva of Arizona, Chair

Congresswoman Deb Haaland of New Mexico

House Committee on Oversight and Reform

Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney of New York, Chair

Congressman Stephen Lynch of Massachusetts

House Committee on Science, Space and Technology

Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas, Chair

Congressman Mikie Sherrill of New Jersey

House Committee on Small Business

Congresswoman Nydia Velázquez of New York, Chair

Congressman Jared Golden of Maine

House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure

Congressman Jared Huffman of California

Congressman Harley Rouda of California

House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs

Congressman Mark Takano of California, Chair

Congressman Conor Lamb of Pennsylvania

House Committee on Ways and Means

Congressman Richard Neal of Massachusetts, Chair

Congressman Jimmy Panetta of California