Congressman Juan Vargas

Representing the 51st District of California

Rep. Vargas Statement on Chicano Park Designation as a National Historic Landmark

Jan 11, 2017
Press Release

Washington, D.C. (January 11, 2017)--Today, Congressman Juan Vargas (CA-51) released the following statement following the U.S. Department of the Interior’s announcement of their designation of Chicano Park as a National Historic Landmark:

“The designation of Chicano Park as a National Historic Landmark is incredible news for the community of Barrio Logan in San Diego, the future of the park, and the many activists who throughout the years have advocated for a space where families can gather and where people can celebrate their shared cultural heritage.

Throughout our nation’s history we have witnessed the power that community voices can have in implementing change and Chicano Park is a great example of that. The spirit of a community that struggled for recognition and advocated for a space where children could play, as well as the vibrant murals and sculptures, make this park special and deserving of National Historic Landmark recognition.

As a National Historic Landmark, Chicano Park will contribute to the diverse history of our nation for years and years to come. This designation will ensure that the story of struggle and unity of the Mexican-American community in Barrio Logan will continue to be told.

I am extremely proud of today’s announcement recognizing the historical significance of Chicano Park. I would like to thank and congratulate the members of our community who have supported the park and contributed to its preservation through art and activism. And thank you, Secretary Sally Jewell for granting Chicano Park this designation.”

Vargas represents California’s 51st Congressional District which includes the southern portion of San Diego County, all of Imperial County and California’s entire US/Mexico border.  Vargas was first elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 2012 and is currently serving his second term in Congress.  He serves on the House Financial Services Committee and the Committee on House Administration.