Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Juan Vargas

Representing the 51st District of California

Rep. Vargas Statement After Being Barred from Meeting with ICE Officials

Feb 16, 2017
Press Release

Washington, D.C.—(February 16, 2017) Congressman Juan Vargas (CA-51) released this statement after he and other members of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus were prevented from attending a meeting with the Acting Director of Immigration and Customs Enforcement, Thomas D. Homan:

“Today my colleagues in the Hispanic Caucus and I were excluded from a meeting with officials from Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) and that is completely unacceptable. The Congressional Hispanic Caucus requested a meeting with the Acting Director of ICE because our constituents are living in fear. By being excluded from today’s meeting, we were unable to get clear information regarding the immigration policies that are directly impacting our communities. All we want are answers.

Children in communities around the country are living in fear because they don’t know if their mom or dad will be taken from them. Hardworking parents are fearful that they’re going to be ripped away from their children. Innocent families are being targeted and separated. Our country is better than this.

The lack of transparency coming from the Trump Administration is creating chaos around the nation. Relationships between community members and law enforcement are affected when immigrants are forced to retreat into the shadows because they are fearful. This administration should be transparent and tell us exactly who they are targeting and who has been detained in raids around the country.

We will continue to demand a meeting with the Trump Administration and ICE officials to request more information. Our constituents have questions and they deserve answers.”

Vargas represents California’s 51st Congressional District which includes the southern portion of San Diego County, all of Imperial County and California’s entire U.S./Mexico border.  Vargas was first elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 2012 and is currently serving his third term in Congress.  He serves on the House Financial Services Committee.